Hoover Dam

Ok, it has been a really long time since I posted. I am ashamed.

A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I went to Las Vegas to celebrate our anniversary. It was a jam-packed trip with seeing shows and going on hikes and scenic drives. On the only full day we were there, we went to the Hoover Dam. It was pretty amazing, and really makes you appreciate engineering. Here are some pictures from that trip.

This is a picture taken from the bridge that goes over the river.
Hoover Dam

And a picture back from the dam towards the bridge. I really like the pictures of the buildings near the dam, since they all look sort of like toys in an old Japanese monster movie.
Bridge over Hoover Dam

This is a picture of Lake Mead. If you look at a big version of this, you can clearly see how much the water level is down. The dock has been moved something like a hundred feet or so down the beach so it can stay in the water. Pretty amazing. I wonder how long Lake Mead will exist before the whole thing just dries up.
Lake Mead

About aaronridley

Professor at the University of Michigan, Department of Climate and Space Science and Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hoover Dam

  1. Dawn C Buck says:

    Hope you enjoyed your honeymoon, the pic’s are amazing! What about moving through space like we do here at home though? How long until that happens??? I have theories, but had to quit my engineering degree because the material loses focus in their teachings and limited me. I’ve shared, through EL.E.X., my theories on how to move through a light year…first generation is the space subway. Past the storybook, I have theories on how to move through with only the machine we would be traveling in, have tech spec’s for that too. Don’t know who else to talk to about all of this, not sure too many other people will be able to blur their view to follow through. I’ve added the website for the first theory, & my email if you want to personally discuss its’ evolution too. Thank~You.

Leave a Reply

