Notes

I have never been one to actually take notes while I am working.  I am always amazed at people who take detailed notes as they work throughout the day and keep something like a science journal or something.  I have never had the patience.

In a meeting that we had today, the idea of notebooks was raised.  The reason is because we are involved in a very expensive NASA project.  NASA requires that you keep track of expenses in what is called the Earned Value Management (EVM) system.  One of the things that it requires is that people who are in charge of line items in the budget have to keep track of what is actually going on with those funds.  So, they actually require that lab books, or notebooks, are kept and essentially turned in.  That sort of sucks.

But then I got to thinking that maybe this is a good idea.  I never keep track of what I actually do during the day.  So, today I started taking some notes in Evernote (product endorsement!), which is essentially an electronic notebook.  I figure that it probably won’t matter that much, but just jotting down some of the things that I do during the day might be of interest to me or someone else at some point in the future.  Who knows, maybe I can be a better scientist because of it.  Well, that would be a stretch….

About aaronridley

Professor at the University of Michigan, Department of Climate and Space Science and Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

